Thursday, January 27, 2011

Senate Environment and Public Works Committee Members Named for New Congress

On January 27, Environment and Public Works (EPW) Committee Chair Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA) and Senator James Inhofe (R-OK), Ranking Member, announced the EPW committee members for the 112th Congress.  The Committee membership will include nine Democrats, eight Republicans and one Independent.  Along with the Chair and Ranking Member, the other Committee members (by party affiliation and alphabetically) are:
  • Max Baucus (D-MT)
  • Benjamin Cardin (D-MD)
  • Thomas Carper (D-DE)
  • Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) 
  • Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ) 
  • Jeff Merkley (D-OR)
  • Tom Udall (D-NM)
  • Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
  • Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
  • John Barrasso (R-WY)
  • John Boozman (R-AR) 
  • Mike Crapo (R-ID)
  • Mike Johanns (R-NE)
  • Jeff Sessions (R-AL)
  • David Vitter (R-LA)
  • Bernard Sanders (I-VT)  
Notably absent from the EPW Committee this Congress is Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) who was a Committee member during the 111th Congress.   From a "Great Waters" perspective, Sen. Klobuchar would have represented both a Mississippi River Basin and Great Lakes perspective on the panel.  Another Great Lakes panelist now absent from the Committee is former Senator George Voinovich (R-OH), who retired from the Senate rather than seeking reelection in 2010.

    No comments:

    Post a Comment